Track Listing

1. Death Came A Knockin'
2. Mists Of Down Below
3. Gene's Machine
4. Four Blue Walls
5. The Wagoner's Lad
6. True Religion
7. The Magnolia Set
8. You And I
9. Everybody Knows
10. Dance Hall Girls
11. The Dregs Of Birch
12. Du Temps Que J'etais Jeune
13. Dover, Delaware
14. Bonus Track: Love Is The Seventh Wave


The Duhks: Jordan McConnell (vocals, guitar, whistle); Leonard Podoliak (vocals, banjo, fiddle); Tania Elizabeth (vocals, fiddle); Jessica Havey (vocals); Scott "Senor" Senior (drums, congas, bongos, cajon drums, pandeiro, shaker, surdo, tabla, bells).

Additional personnel: Béla Fleck (banjo); Edgar Meyer (double bass); Victor Wooten (fretless bass); Paul Brady, Abigail Washburn (background vocals).

The Duhks debut self-titled album for Sugar Hill takes a similar progressive approach to bluegrass and folk as their album's producer, Béla Fleck, although the band is a bit more organic than Fleck. The first noticeable twist on the genre is their percussionist, Scott "Señor" Senior, who is unafraid to propel the band with hints of Latin and rock rhythms. As the album shapes itself, however, it becomes clear that each member of the quintet has the talent to deftly explore many different areas of traditional and contemporary folk. From the subset of traditional Celtic reels that make up "Gene's Machine" to their cover of Leonard Cohen's "Everybody Knows," the Duhks constantly reach out to the same territory as contemporaries Nickel Creek and the Mammals, although with a bit more of a schizophrenic edge than either. The Duhks even give a nod to the Mammals providing a nice justice to Ruthie Ungar's "Blue." ~ Gregory McIntosh