Just Because I'm a Woman: Songs of Dolly Parton

More Albums by Various Artists

Track Listing

1. 9 To 5 - Alison Krauss
2. I Will Always Love You - Melissa Etheridge
3. The Grass In Blue - Norah Jones
4. Do I Ever Cross Your Mind - Joan Osborne
5. The Seeker - Shelby Lynne
6. Jolene - Mindy Smith
7. To Daddy - Emmylou Harris
8. Coat of Many Colors - Shania Twain
9. Little Sparrow - Kasey Chambers
10. Dagger Through The Heart - Sinead O'Connor
11. Light Of A Clear Blue Morning - Allison Moorer
12. Two Doors Down - Me'Shell N'Degeocello
13. Just Because I'm A Woman - Dolly Parton


Despite her numerous accomplishments as a performer, actor, and all-around media mogul, Dolly Parton has often said that she views herself primarily as a songwriter. JUST BECAUSE I'M A WOMAN goes a long way towards highlighting the craft of Parton's extraordinary songs. Unlike some cash-in tribute albums, this disc showcases artists who clearly love and respect the music in question, making for a record that bears no trace of crass commercialism.

Most tracks on the album strip the songs down to their bare essence, framing the tunes in a newgrass-like acoustic setting typical of many Sugar Hill Records releases. Notable exceptions are the two final, and most interesting, tracks. While Allison Moorer's take on "Light of a Clear Blue Morning" boasts a spooky, ethereal production that perfectly suits her husky voice, Me'Shell NdegeOcello completely deconstructs "Two Doors Down," turning a fairly straightforward 1980s pop song into a mysterious, funky, and brooding lament. Perhaps the album's best moment, though, is Joan Osborne's stunningly pure, straightforward version of "Do I Ever Cross Your Mind," which at once showcases the unaffected beauty of the singer's voice, and makes crystal clear why Dolly Parton truly deserves a tribute album.

Personnel: Me'Shell Ndegéocello (vocals, guitar, synthesizer, programming); Jerry Douglas (guitar, resonator guitar); Ron Block (guitar, National guitar); Dan Tyminski (guitar, mandolin); John Leventhal (guitar, organ, percussion); Shelby Lynne (guitar, percussion, background vocals); James Harrah, Steve Buckingham, Bryan Sutton (guitar); Emmylou Harris, Kevin Breit, Rodney Crowell (acoustic guitar); Adam Levy , Kenny Vaughn, Mark Punch, Joe McMahan (electric guitar); Brian Ahern (12-string guitar, gut-string guitar); Sonny Landreth (slide guitar); R. McCormack (resonator guitar, banjo, mandolin); Mike Compton, Lex Price (mandolin); Stuart Duncan (fiddle); Alison Krauss (viola); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Chris Mosher (piano, programming); Norah Jones, Roy Bittan, David Morgan , Gary "Bud" Smith (piano); Glen D. Hardin (electric piano); Barry Beckett (Wurlitzer organ); David Cole (keyboards, drum programming); Larry Antonino, Viktor Krauss, Barry Bales (upright bass); Kerry Buchanan, Chris 'Daddy' Dave, Matt Laug, Owen Hale, Andrew Borger, Shannon Forrest (drums); RIck DePofi, John Ware (percussion); Cheryl White, Carmella Ramsey, Melinda Smith, Julia Waters, Allison Moorer, Maxi Anderson, Maxine Willard Waters (background vocals).