King of My World

More Albums by Sam Bush

Track Listing

1. Puppies 'N Knapsacks
2. A Better Man
3. Eight More Miles To Louisville
4. They're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
5. Bananas
6. King Of The World
7. Spirit Is The Journey
8. Majestic
9. Bless His Heart
10. The Mahavishnu Mountain Boys
11. The Wizard Of Oz


Personnel: Sam Bush (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle); Jon Randall Stewart (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Brad Davis (vocals, guitar); Andrea Zonn (vocals, fiddle); Reese Wynans (piano, organ); Byron House (acoustic bass, electric bass, fretless bass); Larry Atamanuik, Chris Brown (drums).

A pioneering mandolin player, Sam Bush modernized bluegrass in the 1970s to the point of having his style coined "newgrass." True to form, Bush adds numerous stylistic nuances into the bluegrass template on 2004's KING OF MY WORLD. Here he moves from a traditional reading of Grandpa Jones's "Eight More Miles to Louisville" and the instrumental stomper "Puppie 'N Knapsacks" (featuring Bush on fiddle, mandolin, and banjo) to more unorthodox fare, including the self-penned, Latin-jazz-flavored "Bananas."

Not surprisingly, the Kentucky native isn't shy about borrowing from unlikely sources for material. This time around, he dips into the canons of contemporary bluesman Keb' Mo' (the sublime "A Better Man") and South African world music star Johnny Clegg (a reggae-flavored "Spirit Is the Journey"). Most impressive is a reading of Jeff Black's "They're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone," which boasts a locomotive cadence and lightning-fast picking on Bush's mandolin.