Track Listing

This title is no longer available from Sugar Hill. may offer this title from a reseller - we suggest you search for it there. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Featuring Dolly’s video hit “Shine”!

 “Little Sparrow is among Parton’s best work ever…the pickers are top shelf, the harmonies are to die for and Dolly rules. An instant classic.” –Billboard

Dolly’s sequel to her 2000 IBMA Album Of The Year, The Grass Is Blue, bridges the gap between bluegrass and Appalachian folk music, and even includes a few songs with an Irish flavor. Little Sparrow is a stunning blend of these genres and draws material from varied sources, including Dolly’s own unparalleled songwriting. It’s a sound that Parton has tagged as her own unique style of “Blue Mountain Music.”

Songs include self-penned treasures like Little Sparrow, Bluer Pastures and Marry Me, as well as covers such as Seven Bridges Road, the Louvin Brothers classic I Don’t Believe You’ve Met My Baby and Collective Soul’s Shine. Also included is an exquisite new arrangement of Down From Dover, which Dolly first recorded on her now out-of-print 1970 LP The Fairest Of Them All.


The incredible cast of studio musicians and singers includes Jerry Douglas, Chris Thile, Bryan Sutton, Stuart Duncan, Jim Mills, Barry Bales, Byron House, Alison Krauss, Sonya Isaacs, Rhonda Vincent, Dan Tyminski, Claire Lynch, and members of the acclaimed Irish supergroup Altan.


1. Little Sparrow
2. Shine
3. I Don't Believe You've Met My Baby
4. My Blue Tears
5. Seven Bridges Road
6. Bluer Pastures
7. A Tender Lie
8. I Get A Kick Out Of You
9. Mountain Angel
10. Marry Me
11. Down From Dover
12. The Beautiful Lie
13. In The Sweet By And By
14. Little Sparrow Reprise