Daddies Sing Good Night

More Albums by Various Artists

Track Listing

1. Lullaby Time In The Desert - Chris Hillman
2. Hush While The Little Ones Sleep - Tim And Molly O' Brien
3. Chanson Pour Ezra - Michael Doucet
4. Sweet Baby James - The Seldom Scene
5. Prairie Lullaby - Doc Watson
6. Little One - Alan O'Bryant
7. Wings Of Horses - Peter Rowan
8. Russian Lullaby - Leon Redbone
9. Do La Lay - Jesse Winchester
10. Way Long Timey Ago - The Red Clay Ramblers
11. My Little Buckaroo - Doc Watson
12. Hey Willie Boy - Townes Van Zandt
13. Nolabye - Jerry Douglas
14. Little Hands - Jonathan Edwards And The Seldom Scene
15. Full Circle - Tim O' Brien


This is a thoroughly charming, and occasionally heartbreaking, collection of children's bedtime songs performed from a father's perspective by an all-star cast of bluegrass and modern folk artists. There are one or two predictable standards, like James Taylor's "Sweet Baby James" (performed gently by the Seldome Scene) and Leon Redbone's rendition of the old Irving Berlin song "Russian Lullaby," but most of these are original tunes written for the children of those who perform them. In most cases this means remarkably sweet and personal songs like Alan O'Bryant's "My Little One" and Townes Van Zandt's "Hey Willy Boy." But in at least one case the effect is more bittersweet: Doc Watson performs two songs, "Prairie Lullaby" and "My Little Buckaroo," in memory of his son and lifetime musical partner, Merle, who was tragically killed in a farm accident not too long before this album was recorded. All of this gives an unexpected level of emotional complexity to what is a deeply moving album overall. ~ Rick Anderson

Personnel: John Duffey (vocals, tenor, mandolin); Mike Auldridge (vocals, bass voice, steel guitar, dobro, vibraphone); Tim O'Brien (vocals, guitar, bouzouki); Michael Doucet (vocals, guitar, fiddle); Doc Watson, Jesse Winchester, John Starling, Jonathan Edwards, Alan O'Bryant, Leon Redbone, Peter Rowan, Townes Van Zandt (vocals, guitar); Herb Pedersen (vocals, dobro, banjo); Clay Buckner (vocals, mandolin, harmonica); Chris Hillman (vocals, mandolin); Mollie O'Brien, Tommy Thompson (vocals); John Duffy (tenor, mandolin); Larry Park (guitar, acoustic guitar); Jerry Douglas (guitar, dobro); Frank Vignola, Chris Frank, Ken White, Jack Lawrence , Phil Rosenthal, Ben Eldridge (guitar); Stuart Duncan (mandolin, fiddle); Jamie Hartford (mandolin); Byron Berline (fiddle); Ken Peplowski (clarinet); Bland Simpson (piano); Robbie Magruder (drums); Jeff Slaisbury (percussion); Jeff Salisbury (sound effects).