Glamour and Grits

More Albums by Sam Bush

Track Listing

1. Whayasay
2. Same Ol' River
3. All Night Radio
4. Stingray
5. The Ballad Of Spider John
6. Watson Allman
7. Is This Love
8. Brilliancy
9. Spooky Lane
10. Ol' Joe Clark
11. The Lord Came Unto Me
12. (One Night In Old) Galway


Personnel: Sam Bush (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Jon Randall (vocals, guitar); John Cowan (vocals); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Béla Fleck (banjo, electric banjo); Al Kooper (piano, organ); Mark Winchester (acoustic bass); Larry Atamanuik (drums, percussion).

Rumor has it that Sam Bush and his longtime compatriot in New Grass Revival, bassist/vocalist John Cowan, occasionally turn up at Nashville's Station Inn under the moniker Twograss Revival. If so, chances are good the collaboration sounds a little like the music on GLAMOUR & GRITS, Bush's 1996 solo outing on Sugar Hill. These two former bandmates form the core of the recording, along with guitarist Jon Randall and drummer Larry Atamanuik.

While Bush and Cowan are both great singers and sound great together, it's the instrumental moments that shine brightest. Of the vocal tunes, Willis Alan Ramsay's "Ballad of Spider John" is the most evocative. "Same Ol' River" and "All Night Radio" come across as Nashville Unplugged and the instrumentals "Whayasay" and "Stingray" merit repeated listening. Bush is a strong composer and improviser and his pals are no slackers (Bela Fleck turns up on "Whayasay" and "Galway" and Jerry Douglas helps give "Spider John" its kick). The solo "Brilliancy" is just that, and "Watson Allman" features Bush's inventive slide mandolin chops.