Track Listing

1. Shoulder To Shoulder - Jerry Douglas
2. Cheek To Cheek With The Blues - Del McCoury
3. Blue Train - Nashville Bluegrass Band
4. Colleen Malone - Hot Rize
5. Mama's Hand - Lynn Morris
6. I've Got That Old Feeling - Alison Krauss
7. Cold Virginia Night - Ronnie Bowman
8. Get Up John - Ricky Skaggs
9. Travelin' This Lonesome Road - Todd Phillips
10. Little Mountain Church - Quicksilver
11. Hobo Blues - The Lonesome River Band
12. One Tear - The Bluegrass Album Band
13. Who Will Watch The Home Place - Laurie Lewis
14. Lonesome Pine - Blue Highway
15. Big Sandy River - Scott Vestal
16. Peewee & Fern - Claire Lynch
17. Lonesome Old Home - Longview
18. Across The Miles - IIIrd Tyme Out
19. Lonesome Standard Time - Glen Duncan
20. High Lonesome Sound - Vince Gill


Choice Picks collects songs from contemporary bluegrass artists like the Lonesome River Band, Hot Rize, Jerry Douglas, and IIIrd Tyme Out. Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder collaborate on the lively instrumental "Get Up John," while Alison Krauss waxes romantic on "I've Got That Old Feeling." Ronnie Bowman's "Cold Virginia Night," Blue Highway's "Lonesome Pine," and Laurie Lewis' "Who Will Watch the Home Place" are among the album's highlights, along with "High Lonesome Sound," which features Vince Gill and Alison Krauss & Union Station. Performances by Peter Rowan, David Grisman, Herb Pedersen, Vassar Clements, Todd Philips, and Longview make this 20-track compilation a worthwhile and dynamic blend of technique, emotion, and heritage. ~ Heather Phares

Personnel: Del McCoury (vocals, tenor, guitar); Steve Dilling (vocals, guitar, banjo); Dudley Connell, Larry Cordle, Peter McLaughlin, Peter Rowan, Russell Moore, Tony Rice (vocals, guitar); Joe Mullins, Alan O'Bryant (vocals, banjo); Wayne Benson (vocals, mandola, mandolin); Tom Rozum (vocals, mandolin); Laurie Lewis (vocals, fiddle); Cary Black (vocals, acoustic bass); Ray Deaton (vocals, electric bass); Claire Lynch, James King , Lynn Morris, Vince Gill (vocals); Pat Enright (tenor, guitar); Herb Pedersen (tenor, banjo); Doyle Lawson (tenor, mandolin); Glen Duncan (tenor, fiddle); J.D. Crowe (baritone, banjo); Vassar Clements (baritone, fiddle); Wayne Southards (baritone); Bobby Hicks (bass voice, fiddle); Clay Jones, Russ Barenberg, Sammy Shelor, Charles Sawtelle (guitar); Dan Tyminski, David Grier (acoustic guitar); Jeff White, Jerry Douglas , Rob Ickes (dobro); Craig Smith, Mike Bub, Pete Wernick, Rob McCoury, Ron Block, Scott Vestal, Tom Adams, Jason Burleson (banjo); Don Rigbsy, Adam Steffey, Larry Lynch , Roland White, Ronnie McCoury, Sam Bush, Shawn Lane , Stuart Duncan, Butch Baldassari (mandolin); Jason Carter , Alison Krauss, Mike Hartgrove, Randy Howard, Aubrey Haynie (fiddle); Barry Bales (acoustic bass); Kenny Malone (percussion).