Absolutely Bluegrass Vol.1

More Albums by Various Artists

Track Listing

  1. Jim Mills - Pick Along
  2. The Infamous Stringdusters - Starry Night
  3. Dolly Parton - I'm Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open
  4. Marty Stuart (feat. Doc Watson) - Blue Railroad Train
  5. Ronnie Bowman - Left This Country Boy (Sittin' All Alone)
  6. Sam Bush - Howlin' At The Moon
  7. Yonder Mountain String Band - Classic Situation
  8. Bryan Sutton - High Heel Shoe
  9. The Duhks - Dance Hall Girls/Bozeemon Boogie
  10. Tim O'Brien (feat. Del McCoury) - When I Paint My Masterpiece
  11. Chris Thile - Wayside (Back In Time)
  12. Nickel Creek - Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  13. Nashville Bluegrass Band - Rockin' Chair Money
  14. The Gibson Brothers - I Got A Woman
  15. Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver - Back In My Baby's Arms Again
  16. Jerry Douglas (feat. Alison Krauss) - I Don't Believe You've Met My Baby
  17. Ricky Skaggs - I'll Stay Around

Be sure to check out absolutelybluegrass.com for song samples and more info.


One can almost hear the overly excited television announcer hawking Absolutely Bluegrass, Vol. 1, "17 Chart-Topping ARTISTS!" while looking at the cover of this 17-track compilation from the Sugar Hill label. Despite the budget packaging, AB, Vol.1 is a pretty nifty collection that features some of the genre's brightest talents, both new and old. Progressive, contemporary, traditional and crossover offerings from Nickel Creek, Yonder Mountain String Band, the Duhks, Ricky Skaggs and Dolly Parton help keep this modern bluegrass anthology and Sugar Hill sampler nestled deep in the listener's favor and out of the truck stop kiosk/record store cut-out bin. ~ James Christopher Monger