Track Listing

1. Ode To A Butterfly
2. The Lighthouse's Tale
3. Out of the Woods
4. In the House of Tom Bombadil
5. Reasons Why
6. When You Come Back Down
7. Sweet Afton
8. Cuckoo's Nest
9. The Hand Son
10. Robin and Marian
11. The Fox
12. Pastures New


2001 Grammy Award Nominee - Best Bluegrass Album, "Ode To A Butterfly" was nominated for Best Country Instrumental Performance.

This album will be available on VINYL for the first time on Record Store Day 2011, then in stores and online in June 2011. More info at

NICKEL CREEK is the appealing debut album by this quartet of young bluegrass/folk musicians. Mandolinist Chris Thile kicks things off with a display of virtuosity on "Ode to a Butterfly," negotiating the twists and turns of the melody with seemingly effortless abandon. All four musicians seem incredibly sure-footed and comfortable in each other's company. Bassist Scott Thile shines in an often under-appreciated role--his round sound and perfect intonation provide the harmonic underpinning and subtle rhythmic cushion that lends buoyancy to the ensemble sound.

The production values are exceptionally high on this project, reflecting the intense musicality of producer Alison Krauss, an instrumental and singing star in her own right. Violinist Sara Watkins contributes a tender lead vocal on the ethereal "Out of the Woods," and the harmony vocals are nothing short of sublime. "Sweet Afton," a setting of the famous poem by Robert Burns, shows off the group's Celtic leanings. Chris Thile's high tenor vocal is heart stopping.