Track Listing

  1. Making Plans - Tim O'Brien
  2. Christmas Time's A-Coming - Peter Rowan
  3. The First Noel/It Came Upon A Midnight Clear/Joy To The World - Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
  4. Christmas Lullaby - Doc Watson
  5. Beautiful Star Of Bethlehem - John Starling
  6. Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me) - Ranch Romance
  7. What Child Is This - Dan Crary
  8. Christ Was Born In Bethlehem - Tim & Mollie O'Brien
  9. Silent Night - The Seldom Scene
  10. Nothing But A Child - Robin & Linda Williams
  11. The Carpenter Shop - The Bluegrass Cardinals
  12. Away In A Manager - Jerry Douglas
  13. That White Christmas Song - Red Knuckles & The Trailblazers


Performers include: Peter Rowan, Tim O'Brien, Jerry Douglas, Doc Watson, Dan Crary, John Starling, Tim & Mollie O'Brien, The Seldom Scene, The Bluegrass Cardinals, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Robin & Linda Williams, Ranch Romance, Red Knuckles & The Trailblazers.

Most of this CD is imbued with soft, sublime sounds of the season, including Jerry Douglas's double-tracked dobro/guitar rendering of "Away in a Manger," Dan Crary's guitar and sleigh bells version of "What Child Is This?" and the stately bluegrass harmonies of John Starling, Larry Stephenson, and Rickie Simpkins on "Beautiful Star of Bethlehem." Robin And Linda Williams sing Steve Earle's "Nothing but a Child" as if it were a Yule folk standard. The all-female Ranch Romance vamp up Elvis's "Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me)" with sizzling accordion and fiddle, and Red Knuckles & the Trailblazers end the proceedings with a medley that'll make you "n'yuk n'yuk n'yuk." ~ Dennis MacDonald